CPRS Vancouver Island
CPRS Vancouver Island

Student Resources

Denis Racine Student Bursary

This annual $500 bursary is available to CPRS-VI student members who live on Vancouver Island or the Gulf Islands, are registered in a communications-based post-secondary educational program, and have completed three or more courses.

Recipients are chosen by a CPRS education committee of public relations professionals.

One bursary is awarded each year. One bursary is awarded each year. The successful recipient will be invited to write CPRS-VI blog post for future promotional purposes.

Click here to apply. Apply today - the application deadline is March 15, 2016!

Denis Racine was a prominent figure in Victoria's public relations community and a strong mentor for youth. He was president of both CPRS-VI and CPRS National as well as Tournament Director for the Times Colonist Open and an advisor for the University of Victoria.

Donations to the Denis Racine Student Bursary may be sent to:
Communications + Public Relations Foundation,
Suite 1515, 73 Widdicombe Hill Blvd,
Toronto, Ontario, M9R 4B3

Torchia Scholarship 

Zulfar Azimi, a student at Algonquin College in Ottawa, was the winner of the 2012 Torchia Scholarship in Public Relations/Communications, awarded by the Communications + Public Relations Foundation.

The Torchia Scholarship is awarded to a communications student who has chosen to study public relations/communications in one of Canada’s two official languages that is not his/her first language or mother tongue, and who is entering the second year of study in a Canadian university degree program or multi-year certificate or diploma program that meets recognized standards of education.

“Speaking multiple languages enriches students, gives them a competitive edge and a greater appreciation for other cultures and ways of thinking, which often leads to exciting career opportunities,” said Jean-Claude Torchia, President and CEO of Torchia Communications. “Torchia Communications is very proud to support this Scholarship and what it stands for.”

The scholarship is valued at $1,500 and is for one year only.

The Torchia Scholarship monies are managed by the Communications + Public Relations Foundation. The Foundation promotes the advancement of communications and public relations as vital functions in society, is dedicated to the public interest, and is committed to increasing public knowledge and awareness of the role of communications and public relations in daily life. The Foundation accepts individual and corporate contributions towards research and educational initiatives nationwide.

For more information about the Foundation and its public relations educational initiatives, contact:

Barbara Sheffield, Executive Director
Communications + Public Relations Foundation
Suite 1515, 73 Widdicombe Hill Blvd.
Toronto, Ontario   M9R 4B3

Powered by VSIP Victoria Web Design