Denis Racine Student Bursary

Denis Racine was a prominent figure in Victoria's public relations community and a strong mentor for youth. He was president of both CPRS-VI and CPRS National as well as Tournament Director for the Times Colonist Open and an advisor for the University of Victoria. This $1,000 bursary is awarded annually to a CPRS-VI student member who lives on Vancouver Island or the Gulf Islands, is registered in a communications-based post-secondary educational program, and has completed three or more courses.

At least one bursary is awarded each year. The successful recipient will be expected to write a thank you note to Denis Racine’s family as well as be invited to write a CPRS-VI blog post for future promotional purposes. 

Past recipients:

2019-2020 Neal Tougas

2018-2019 Paula Duncan

2017-18 Chelsea Rutherford

2016-17 Nicki Reich and Melanie Kilpatrick

2015-16 Tania Jacobs

2014-15 Herkamal Brar and Jennifer Beaupre

2013-14 Tedi Vermeulen

2012-13 Evan Quinn and Brennan MacDonald

2011-12 Lyndi Shaw and Christina Southern

2010-11 Michelle May

2009-10 Lindsay Nicole McPherson

CPRS-VI members are also eligible for the CPRS Torchia Scholarship in Public Relations/Communications and CPRS/CNW Student Award of Excellence.



Canadian Public Relations
Society of Vancouver Island
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon

Connect With Us

@2018 by CPRS-VI